Oil Consumption - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Snowmobile Lounge All general discussions relating to Snowmobiles

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 12-13-1999, 07:04 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

Oil Consumption

Is there anyone out there that can give me the straight story on OIL CONSUMPTION. I have an 99 Arctic Cat 700 PS, The oil use is in the 27-28 to 1 area. This is about 250 miles to a gallon of oil.
The dealer says "THE MORE THE BETTER" and "THE MARKS ARE LINED UP", This seems like a lot of oil to me. Being that I'm new to snowmobiling, any help would be appreciated.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 12-14-1999, 01:25 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

Re: Oil Consumption

I've always been amazed at how different the oil consuption is from machine to machine. My Indy 650 uses about 1 liter to every two tanks of gas, which works out to about 50:1. A buddy's Yamaha Excell III uses about 500 ml to every 3 tanks of gas or about 150:1. Another friend runs an older Phazer and he averages around 100:1. Finally another friend just bought a Cat ZR500 and it supposedly uses about 1 liter to every tank (large tank) or about 35:1 (at least this is what the guy he bought it off said).

What should it be?? Who knows - I figure the north american machines should be in the 50:1 range.

27-28:1 does seem a bit much to me. Keep digging, hopefully someone with the same machine will post.

Steve S.
http://home.off-hoad.com/~ovo/members/sshaw/sshaw.htm
post #3 of (permalink) Old 12-14-1999, 07:47 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

my '99 700 triple ski-doo used 1 gallon of oil in 600 miles, sounds like your using to much oil to me too.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of (permalink) Old 12-15-1999, 01:04 AM
**DONOTDELETE**

Buddies' ZR 600 and 500 use about a quart to a tank, which is really close to 80 miles or 320 miles per gallon. My brothers XLT that