Tube Bending - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
The NOT-Off-Road Lounge Talk any topic NOT related to Off-Road vehicles. ESTABLISHED COMMUNITY MEMBERS ONLY - NO SPAMMERS.

View Poll Results: Good Investment or Pipe Dream ??
Its worth the money 1 25.00%
It probably wont work 3 75.00%
Save your $$, pay a professional 0 0%
Voters: 4. You may not vote on this poll

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 12-30-2002, 10:47 AM Thread Starter

Tube Bending

So I'm daydreaming about fabbing up my own roll & nerf bars ... whaddya think about this little item?

Any opinions / past experiences welcome !!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 12-30-2002, 02:07 PM
Pooh-Bah

Re: Tube Bending

I'm no expert <font color="blue">hitechredneck</font color>, but I don't think a PIPE bender will work for heavy wall TUBING.
There's a lot of discussion on it if you do a search.
I did find a good article on how to do the bending itself at pirate....here.
I've thought about that bender you've got pictured as well,
but when I've mentioned it to a few folks in the club here that have built cages,
the general consensus is, it won't work.
post #3 of (permalink) Old 12-30-2002, 02:24 PM Thread Starter

Excellent write-up <font color="blue"> WD </font color> ... thanks for the link. Dayumn - the size of that guys' bender!! I feel inadequate all-of-a-sudden! [img]images/graemlins/blush.gif[/img] [img]images/graemlins/grin.gif[/img]
... and dagnabbit - the search is still busted!
post #4 of (permalink) Old 12-30-2002, 06:39 PM
wrobel

wow. that's a damn nice write up
post #5 of (permalink) Old 12-30-2002, 10:15 PM
Keyboard Implanted

That is a very good write up . I've done it the "hard math" way, by figuring the amount of growth in # of * of radius, ect , which is almost impossible to compensate enough for to make sure bends show up where they're suppose to . I'll have to remember his formula , it looks crude but I'd rather do that than waste tube....