Off Roading Forums banner

OT Need some advice

519 views 11 replies 9 participants last post by  H8monday 
G
#1 ·
About 3 years ago I sold a set of tires to a real good friend of mine. The cost was a little over $500 and I told him to pay me when he could because I knew that I would get the money from him and I was in no big hurry to get the money. A few weeks later he was involved in a bad wreck and was put out of work. To get to the point, a little over a year ago my friend past away due to complications with an illness. Now I am in need of new tires for my truck( my daily ride to get to school and work ). I'm a collage student and basically live on student loans. I know that my friends mom kept his jeep and that it is just sitting at her house, she does not drive it. So my question is, should I approach his mom about getting my tires back? Deep down I feel that she would not mind, but it's hard to tell how people will act in a situation like this. So, should I suck it up and go hungry for a few weeks, or try to approach his mom about the tires?

#3 ·
I'd say try talking to the mother. Just let her know what happened. It seems as though it's been long enough, so she shouldn't be too emotional. Sorry to hear about your friend man.

#4 ·
I would say you are ok, just go in with the attitude you have now. Explain the story and be nice about it. They are your tires technically and if she is decent, she wouldn't want another dead kid because you got in a wreck with bad tires. Good luck.

#5 ·
Humm... you're in quite a quandry aren't you? Well I'm of a different opinion than those who have posted answers.

The problem is that you had struck a bargain with your friend, and when he was hurt you constantly forgave the debt. This was a very honorable thing to do, an I commend you for it.