Off Roading Forums banner

how do you bore an engine?

405 views 5 replies 3 participants last post by  dave 
G
#1 ·
What does it mean when somebody "bores" the engine? Does it just mean that they drill out the cylinders to increase their diameter? I need someone to explain this.

Blake
93 YJ/4.0L/33x12.50s/3" Rough Country suspension/1.25" shackles

#2 ·
Im no expert, but I think I can help you a little on this..

yes basically enlarge hte cylinder diameter.
a good shop used to use a sunnen CK10, ( I think thats the right name) they were the machine for a awhile

enlarge the cylinders enough to overcome all taper and wear grooves that are present, a very badly worn cylinder might need to be sleeved, they insert a steel sleeve in, glue it with some high heat stuff, and then bore that.

it isnt cost effective to sleeve more than one cylinder ( $100 per cylinder usually) most blocks are just cheaper to replace.

after a bore job, you need a nice cross hatch pattern, and then some oversized pistions, with new rings with the proper end gap.

its actually pretty involved, more so than simply drilling the cylinders larger, but basically thats the deal

OzarkJeep

I love the U.S.A.

G
#3 ·
From what I understand that is exactly what it is. I think the smallest is 0.10 over all the way up to 0.90 I think. Some people do it for a little more power also it is common when rebuilding to have a clean smooth cylinder wall. As for your topic question I think you have to have some pretty precise tools so I think most people take it to a machine shop.

G
#5 ·
Drive it only on the highway, and at approximately the same RPM the whole time/wwwthreads_images/icons/wink.gif.