I think I just burned up the clutch!!!!! - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Jeep-Short Wheelbase All discussion of short wheelbase Jeeps: CJ, TJ, YJ and JK

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 09-20-2001, 09:15 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

I think I just burned up the clutch!!!!!

Well tonight I took my 98 TJ out and got stuck going over a hill. The jeep was stuck on the axle and wouldnt go anywhere so I dropped the clutch several times while giving it around 4500 RPMs. The tires were just spinning and something smelled like it was burning. Assuming I did burn the clutch (it's still stuck and sitting there) how much would it cost to buy a new one and pay labor fees? Could I do this myself---I'm not a master mechanic here but decent at things. I hope I didn't mess it up good.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 09-20-2001, 09:50 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

Re: I think I just burned up the clutch!!!!!

I am no expert but, I kind of doubt you completely ruined your clutch. You might have smelled the clutch burning but that is not that uncommon, examples someone new to clutch "riding" the clutch, or tires to big for the gear ratios starting from stop. It is also possible you smelled your tires burning some, or even burning something in the dirt. As for clutch replacement I helped a friend on a ranger and it was not that bad, 3 of us had it in and out in a weekend working leisurely (biggest problem was bleeding the hydraulic clutch), but it is fairly involved, pulling tranny and x-fer case being the big things.
David

post #3 of (permalink) Old 09-20-2001, 10:08 PM
sas87yj