My Clutch linkage fell apart on me! - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Jeep-Short Wheelbase All discussion of short wheelbase Jeeps: CJ, TJ, YJ and JK

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 07-09-2001, 10:11 AM
**DONOTDELETE**

My Clutch linkage fell apart on me!

My clutch fell apart on me in Moab. I pushed it in, and it stayed all the way to the floor. Found out the adjuster bar had worked loose and fallen out.
Bought a new bar, and hooked it up, seemed to work fine for a few hours, and then the peddle stayed to the floor again. This time, the two tubes that go from the peddle (rod) to the adjuster rod pulled apart. I pushed them back together, but they came out again 5 min. later.
Could someone tell me if I need new linkage rods, or just new bushings, etc?
Thanks, I've never done a clutch linkage before . . .

Jed
80 CJ7 258w/TR,Holley carb,5" lift,33x12.5's.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 07-09-2001, 10:30 AM
**DONOTDELETE**

Re: My Clutch linkage fell apart on me!

Broken motor or body mounts will cause problems like that.

post #3 of (permalink) Old 07-09-2001, 12:06 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

I had the same problem when the big spring on the clutch linkage was weakened. I replaced the spring, and the problem was solved.

Moneyless, Will weld for jeep accessories.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of (permalink) Old 07-09-2001, 12:29 PM

Sounds like a combo of issues. There is a small clip on either end of the bellcrank that keep the bushings in place and let the bellcrank float left and right as needed. The bellcrack should not fall out. Check your engine and tranny mounts as suggested above. If you have had any type of body lift the increased distance can also cause issues. I have had to lower the bracket on my body to try and keep the bellcrank parrell to the bracket on the bellhousing.

Pigpen