Off Roading Forums banner

Best Rattle Can Paint???

1K views 8 replies 5 participants last post by  **DONOTDELETE** 
G
#1 ·
ok, i finally got rid of my hardtop and doors for a set of nice steel 1/2 doors and nice Softop

the 1/2 doors are white and i am looking to paint them black. Not looking for perfect, but i dont want a crappy result. I am looking at the rattle can route and look for ideas/advice for prep and brand of paint

anyone?

or does anyone know of an affordable body shop in Mass?

thanks

Boston Mangler
89 YJ With A Bunch Of Goodies
See It At:
http://www.yankeetoys.org/mangler/

#2 ·
i used krylon high gloss..
its all in the prep work.. if the doors are in great shape.. i would clean them with some xcylene (sp?).. then sand them with some 220 grit.. rince.. clean.. and then sand with some 400.. rince.. clean.. and then shoot them.. im no expert.. but its what i did with my tub.. and it came out quite nice..

http://www.jeepgod.net

84 CJ-7 401/T-18/D20/D44/D60w/4.10&Detriots/YJ frame & tub/35x16x15 Boggers
survival is instinct, but living takes guts

G
#3 ·
I did my body with hamerite (the non textured type). People don't believe that I did it with old rattle cans. That stuff DOES NOT run, its great! I primered with krylon sandable auto primer. Get one of those trigger gun adapter things that snap on to the top of the can. It make life real easy and your thumb wont get tired.

My name is Ted, and I'm a Jeep-a-holic. /wwwthreads_images/icons/laugh.gif
[email]tzeiger@excite.com[/email]

#4 ·
I have been using the rustoleum industrial paint from my local Home Depot. It doesn't require primer and seems to be pretty durable. We don't have the rust issues you guys do though.

BigHG
84 CJ7

#5 ·