Ring and Pinion Help - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Jeep-Short Wheelbase All discussion of short wheelbase Jeeps: CJ, TJ, YJ and JK

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 06-28-2001, 04:37 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

Ring and Pinion Help

When I bought my jeep it had 4.56's in the back and stock gears in the front. I have never done a ring and pinion before but figured what the heck. Last week end I took it apart and removed the carrier axles etc. Now I want to put it back together with the new gears. I have a few questions.

1. I had to pry the carrier out. When I did the seats for the bearings came flying out of the housing. I have no idea which was on the left and which was on the right. Is this a problem?

2. My book shoed removing the carrier before taking off the large nut on the pinion gear. Now that the carrier is out how do I hold the pinion gear still while the impact wrench goes to work on teh pinion nut?

3. I know to start the shimming process with what is already there, but since I have to pull and press the bearings off each time will I ruin the bearings as I try to get the shims right through trial and error?

4. Is there anything else I should replace besides seals and bearings while I have the thing apart?

Thanks

Shawn

82 CJ-7, stock 258, Chrysler 999 auto, 5" lift, 33" tires, 4.56 gears, detroit locker/1 piece axles in the rear. Daily driver....
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 06-28-2001, 05:25 PM

Re: Ring and Pinion Help

1. Are you taling about the shims for the carrier bearings? Those are what sets the preload on the bearings; it's a problem because they usually give you a starting point when you are doing your setup, but not a real big deal.

2. Put a large pipe wrench on the yoke. This will hold it still while you buzz the nut off.