Keeping it cool - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Jeep-Short Wheelbase All discussion of short wheelbase Jeeps: CJ, TJ, YJ and JK

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 06-07-2001, 10:51 AM Thread Starter

Keeping it cool

my cj dose not like this time of year, in the past (before winch) i was able to keep thing cool enough but i think it is time to add a electric pusher fan in my grill or replace my motor fan with a electric. my motor fan just pulls thru the bottom of the radiator and that is tough to do with a winch. would a electric fan keep things cool enough mounted in the top half of the radiator, or should i go with a pusher in the grill and just turn it on when needed?

gdm
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 06-07-2001, 11:09 AM
**DONOTDELETE**

Re: Keeping it cool

i am new to this world but from the comments i recieved yesterday about my cooling problems the fan in front seems like the best idea. I don't think it will hurt to have extra cooling power and with the electric only covering half your radiator you could be in trouble.

'70 CJ5 chevy350
post #3 of (permalink) Old 06-07-2001, 12:50 PM
mudracer

In my experience, an electric fan alone won't cut it. Since you have a V8, I'd almost guarantee it. At least at low speeds (trails). I'd add the pusher to the front and keep your engine driven fan. Also, make sure your shroud forces air to come through the radiator and there are no big openings where air has an easier path.