carb experts needed - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Jeep-Short Wheelbase All discussion of short wheelbase Jeeps: CJ, TJ, YJ and JK

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 06-04-2001, 09:24 AM Thread Starter

carb experts needed

I am trying to tweek up my holley carb. I just put it on the jeep a little while back and it seems like it wants to run at very high rpms and not step down when warmed up. I have tried disconnecting the choke, but it still runs high. I have also tried turning the idle screw (I think its the idle screw, the screw that adjust the throttle mechanism.) I have a holley carb book, but they don't tell me much about this particular case. any help is appreciated

Jay

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 06-04-2001, 10:17 AM
**DONOTDELETE**

Re: carb experts needed

I'm kinda reluctant to reply to this question because I'm not a Carb Expert. You haven't elaborated on what you done to troubleshoot this problem. Here's my .02: There could be a variety of situations which may cause too high an idle after it warms up and the most likely IMHO is a vacume leak. You can try the common method of looking for the leak by spraying staring fluid or ? until you hear a noticable chang in the RPMs. Another cause might be a mechanical, ie, where the throttle plate is not closing enough, either the linkage hitting the stop screw, cable binding or by the plates hitting a gasket or adapter plate. The ckoke is unlikely because you can visiually see if the choke opens totally or not and it would run like doo-doo if it stayed shut. Oh, and your timing could be advanced too far, but changing a carb wouldn'd likely affect timing. These are just some of the obvious things that come to mind quickly, hopefully a Carb Expert will give some help too.

post #3 of (permalink) Old 06-04-2001, 11:08 AM
**DONOTDELETE**

Does all the carb mechanism move freely, with no binding that would prohibit it from returning to idle easily?