idle noise - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Jeep-Short Wheelbase All discussion of short wheelbase Jeeps: CJ, TJ, YJ and JK

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 04-27-2000, 05:10 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

idle noise

I am a new 2000 jeep wrangler 4.0 6 cyl, owner, can anyone tell me if this sounds normal: I took my wrangler in for them to check out a noise that didnt seem normal to me. My jeep has less than 200 miles on it and when you let out the clutch and have the transmission in neutral I can hear a whining noise, (almost sounds like a bad bearing, but i'm no expert). The service dept adjusted the linkage and stated that for the new 2000 6 cyl wranglers that noise is normal. It doesnt seem to get any worse as i drive it, its just something i havent heard in my previous jeeps (93 and older). Has anyone heard of this before???? thanks for any help

H Tolboe
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 04-27-2000, 05:24 PM
Keyboard Implanted

Re: idle noise

sounds like they don't have a clue whats wrong with it...if it doesn't go away SOON.. you can demand that they fix it

~~Elusive~~
it's sort of still a cj thingy....
post #3 of (permalink) Old 04-27-2000, 05:29 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

My 92 Chev PU did the same thing. Inever had it looked at I just figured it was the sound the clutch made when spining free without any pressur on it ...Oh yeh it did this for about 75000 miles til I sold it.

jim

The first time I fell in the mud...
I realized I belonged there.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of (permalink) Old 04-29-2000, 11:00 AM
**DONOTDELETE**