Transplant 78 Wag heart into 75CJ-6 - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Jeep-Short Wheelbase All discussion of short wheelbase Jeeps: CJ, TJ, YJ and JK

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 04-24-2000, 12:44 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

Transplant 78 Wag heart into 75CJ-6

For your info yes I am new at this. Ihave an opertunity to purchase a wrecked wag with a fairly fresh 401,auto, and a q-track with low range add and a part time kit all with low miles. My question is how much trouble am I asking for and would I be able to use anything else, like the PS, PB, or the tilt steering column any help would be appreciated in taking my first Jeep plunge.

Jeep Rookie Year, Gonna be A Good ONE
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 04-24-2000, 12:57 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

Re: Transplant 78 Wag heart into 75CJ-6

The first thing that comes to mind is the need for a rear differential change. The '75 has the differential centered between the wheels and the Q-trac output is not centered. You will need a rear end which has the diff offset to the passenger side (like the front one is). That is a good frame/body to put that drivetrain in though. There's room for the engine and the wheelbase is long enough to handle the auto tranny. I like the CJ6 better than any other CJ, but that's just a personal thing. The power steering will work, but to use the column it will take some fabrication. The pre-76 CJ's have a totally different column and you will need to fabricate bracketry to use any Waggie or '76-up CJ column.

post #3 of (permalink) Old 04-24-2000, 09:06 PM
BigMan

I would use the motor and tranny but adapt a different transfer case to it. The quadratrac isn't really good for much other than snow. It is great in the snow though. I might have a dana 20 and the adaptor to put it onto the th 400 for sale before too long. I just got a dana 300 and I'm going to install that.