No juice (electric kind) - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Jeep-Short Wheelbase All discussion of short wheelbase Jeeps: CJ, TJ, YJ and JK

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 05-11-2001, 03:37 AM Thread Starter

No juice (electric kind)

Alrighty then, I'm no electrician but I figured that if I grounded my dash I'd have no problems with the glass body. To be on the overkill side I used some 4awg welding cable a buddy had laying around and went from the head to one of the dash bolts with a splice in between going to a fender bolt. I'm getting no power to anything. I get 12.8 volts when I go from the batt. to anything (dash,fender,grill,frame,motor,steering column,even the key for cry'n out loud) with a multimeter, even the heater box bolts which I haven't even grounded yet. Sorry so long. TIA

'78 CJ7,304,T18 w/ 6.32,locked 30,open 20,4" Skyjacker,33" TSL,4WDHardware glass body,Matkins frame, almost done.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 05-11-2001, 01:21 PM
Way Outta Control

Re: No juice (electric kind)

1. Fill out the Profile.. it's nice to have a real name associated with you... not just the Jeep.
2. Check continuity between the batter negagive post, to the engine block, to the splice to the dash.
3. Check to make sure the supply voltage is to the firewall. Check using the battery ground as the refrence. That will check the 12volt postive to the battery.

If that checks OK... let us know and we'll go from there.

This ain't rocket science, and I'm pretty good at these kind of problems... so since two heads are better than one (especially when one's mine) it should't take too long to get this figured out.

post #3 of (permalink) Old 05-12-2001, 12:10 AM Thread Starter