Which Flywheel & Pilot Bushing for a 4.0 Swap? - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Jeep-Short Wheelbase All discussion of short wheelbase Jeeps: CJ, TJ, YJ and JK

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 05-09-2001, 01:38 PM Thread Starter
Enthusiast

Which Flywheel & Pilot Bushing for a 4.0 Swap?

Hey gang, I am swapping in a 94 4.0L motor into my 85 CJ. The 4.0 is going to be mated to my T-176 and Dana 300. Which flywheel do I use on the 4.0 motor, the one from my 258 or the one from the 4.0 to mate the clutch and 4spd. T-176 (I am using the orginal bellhousing that came with the T-176)? Or does it make any difference? Are the starters the different too? Lastly, which pilot bushing do I get to work with the 4.0 crank and the input shaft of my T-176?Thanks for the big time help, I am a newbie on this one. --DuaneD
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 05-09-2001, 07:15 PM

Re: Which Flywheel & Pilot Bushing for a 4.0 Swap?

I am in the same boat, swapping a 2000 4.0 into my wife'scrambler, and I'm keeping her T-176. I am going to keep the 4.0 flywheel, mostly I guess because it has the provisions for the crank sensor if I go that route. I haven't looked finding which pilot bushing, however, but post what you find out!
Bob in Ma

post #3 of (permalink) Old 05-09-2001, 09:21 PM
Addict

Depends on what you do for the CPS. If you use the harmonic balancer type, you can use the 258 flywheel. If not, you will need the flywheel, and need to modify the bellhousing, or get one from AA for the CPS.

The starters are different.

I used an NP-435, and it was the same bushing that was used on the 258. But I don't know about your situation.

CJ-8, 4.0, NP435, D44 x D60, ARB's, 4w Disc, 2"YJ springs, SOA, 1" Body lift, 38.5" TSL SX

CJ-6, Cherokee
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of (permalink) Old 05-10-2001, 02:39 PM Thread Starter
Enthusiast

Bob in CA;