New guy with Q's - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Jeep-Short Wheelbase All discussion of short wheelbase Jeeps: CJ, TJ, YJ and JK

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 04-18-2001, 04:28 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

New guy with Q\'s

Hi everyone. I am new to the Jeep world. I have been wheelin’ for 5+ yrs but I have some Q’s about Jeep. I have a 2001 Jeep TJ w/ less than 3500 miles and 38 days old, 4 liter, dual tops, Dana 44, Quick Disconnects, well basically stock. I like crawling but do not do it extreme. Any help and opinions are greatly appreciated.
1. I am looking to lift about 3” and was wondering about some good but reasonable kits.
2. I want to put new rims and 31’s on but I am not sure of the proper backspacing I would need.
3. At what amount of lift would I have to change to a SYE at the same time as the lift. (will be done at a later time.)

Thanks for your help.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 04-18-2001, 04:38 PM
85Jeepny

Re: New guy with Q\'s

I would go with Rubicon Express. Like a 3.5" Super Flex Kit. My friends has 32" tires and it rides great. Incredible amount of flex too. The website is www.rubiconexpress.com. Usually at 3.5" or more you will have to go with a CV or Slip Yoke Conversion to stop driveline vibration. My friends has just a little vibrations at startup, he is running the 8" Aluminum Jeep wheels.

post #3 of (permalink) Old 04-18-2001, 06:41 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

Congratulations on getting a kick-ass jeep. My dad recently picked up a tj just like yours-it's a great vehicle.

Depending on your $$$ situation, there are a couple things you can do:

First off, you can 31's stock on a TJ no problem. Disconnects and 31" muds on your TJ (do you have the limited slip rearend?) and you will spank 60% of the rigs out there. The great thing about the 31's is that you are well within your gearing/drivetrain limitations. If you go up to 33's or 35's, then you gotta re-gear.