SOA conversion questions - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Jeep-Short Wheelbase All discussion of short wheelbase Jeeps: CJ, TJ, YJ and JK

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 03-28-2001, 12:41 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

SOA conversion questions

I'm fairly new to YJ mods and would like to ask some of you kind people who have worked on these fine Jeeps(cough cough) How much time and money it would approx. take to do this conversion. Remember I'm looking for approximates, I know the basics will need to be replaced/altered...brake lines etc...

No matter where you go......there you are.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 03-28-2001, 12:57 PM
Keyboard Implanted

Re: SOA conversion questions

heres my opinion....
the stock front axle on a yj(vacuum operated dana 30) is not worth all the trouble of a SOA. i have done many spring overs, and it takes me about 7 hours with a lift and all the nifty tools and a buddy helping. it gives about 4 inches of lift with yj spring... yes 4 inches.. not 5.5 like everyone says.. cj springs give you just over 5, but yj springs give just over 4. you could just buy a 4" lift kit and save a lot of work. if you are doing this, youre probably looking at putting at least 35's on it, and neither of the axles are up for that.

~~Elusive~~
http://albums.photopoint.com/j/AlbumList?u=1553931
post #3 of (permalink) Old 03-28-2001, 01:20 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

How well do the YJ springs hold up in an SOA setup (sagging)? Do the CJ springs tend to hold up better? Is the difference in lift amounts (CJ vs. YJ) because the CJ springs are slightly arched and the YJ's are flat? My CJ-5 is pretty much the stock weight, with the exception of a 283 V-8. I would like to add a winch and heavier spare tire carrier onto it, but would the YJ springs hold up to this extra weight? Do the YJ springs ride better than the CJ's in this config? Thanks, Bret

'56 CJ-5, 283, t-90/d18, 25/44, 32's on 15x10's,no lift yet, cage.