Prep for lift - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Jeep-Short Wheelbase All discussion of short wheelbase Jeeps: CJ, TJ, YJ and JK

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 03-21-2001, 06:08 AM
**DONOTDELETE**

Prep for lift

My 3in lift is going on my 94YJ this friday morning. I soaked most of the nuts/bolts with penetrating oil once and plan on doing it a few more times. I've torn open the lift and got all the hardware organized. Now I just need advice fromthe old pros! Is there anything else I can do to make the operation go smoothly? I've got access to a fully equiped shop (air tools, lift, jacks, every hand tool known to man) but nothing beats expierence! Thanks in advance..

94YJ-just started
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 03-21-2001, 06:42 AM
sas87yj

Re: Prep for lift

let's see, a 3" lift. i just did a 4.5" so should be some similarities. i'm not a pro but might have a few comments. does your kit come with a drop pitman arm? if so you will need a puller and a pickle fork. do you plan on doing a slip yoke eliminator and longer rear drive shaft? does the kit come with transcase drop pucks? may not for a 3" lift. will you be installing extended brake lines? i guess i'm asking more questions than you are![img]/wwwthreads_images/icons/smile.gif[/img] watch things like emergency brake cables getting stretched and the vacumm lines to front 4wd.
steve

post #3 of (permalink) Old 03-21-2001, 07:24 AM
**DONOTDELETE**

Let's see...Yes I'm swapping the pitman arm (done tons of research and still dreading it). The kit came with Tcase drop, and I'm not sure what I'm going to do with the brake lines. Have to see if I need extensions as it comes together. I've got all the tools needed (i.e. pullers)thanks to the Air Force. What types of grease did you use on bushings? I've heard a few different prefrences but I'm not sure it really matters. Already got Loctite!

94YJ-just started
Sponsored Links
Advertisement