Jeep-Short Wheelbase All discussion of short wheelbase Jeeps: CJ, TJ, YJ and JK

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 03-20-2001, 02:11 AM
**DONOTDELETE**

Welding Axles and metal types

I was looking at this welding site
http://www.twi.co.uk/bestprac/jobknol/jk25.html
http://www.twi.co.uk/bestprac/jobknol/jk19.html
and it was talking about all the different types of casting metals and pre heating and hydrogen cracking and all the stuff I'm just starting to learn about.
Anyway, that got me thinking about what type of cast metal is used in the yokes and housing of D44's. I read somewhere that the D60 has a Nodular housing but not the D44's.
Does anyone know what type of cast metal is used in the yokes and housing of a D44? I'm assuming the yokes are cast and not some kind of forging.
A number of people with the scout axles have ground out the welds on the yokes and twisted more caster in and then re-welded using the low hydrogen rods, 7018 I think. They didn't have to pre-heat or anything to keep them from cracking, are they just lucky or is it a special cast metal which resistes cracking. Does anyone know how Dana welds this stuff in their factory? Stick, TIG, MIG? Do they pre-heat?

Also, a couple other questions for you welding experts out there.
Which has the lower Hydrogen, stick using the 7018 rod, or MIG?
There has been some talk about getting good penetration, does the "more is better rule" apply to welding on cast metals as well? If you turn up the power to get better penetration are you more likely to have the metal crack?

Anybody with knowledge, please share, Thanks, Max

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 03-20-2001, 10:01 AM
jeepfiend

Re: Welding Axles and metal types