brake problem - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Jeep-Short Wheelbase All discussion of short wheelbase Jeeps: CJ, TJ, YJ and JK

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 03-09-2001, 06:19 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

brake problem

I just pressed the brake and instead of getting resistance like usual, it snapped and my foot sank down to the bottom. There is a little resistance at the bottom, barely enough to stop the car. The smaller reservoir in the master cylinder was low even though I had recently checked it. I filled it and there was no change in braking. I also found no leaks. Any ideas? THanks. Steve

Steve H. '82 CJ8 258. TR upgrade. Borgeson steering shaft.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 03-09-2001, 06:54 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

Re: brake problem

Did you just do some brake work. I wonder if the system needs to be filled and then bleed off. Worth a try. First check all over for any leaks.

I am not a brake expert, done a few and thats what I would check.

Rich

76 CJ5 304 "its a JEEP thing, I hope you understand"
post #3 of (permalink) Old 03-09-2001, 09:02 PM

Sounds like you lost your master cylinder. I can't think of anyhting else.

Michigan Jeepin Madness
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of (permalink) Old 03-09-2001, 09:54 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

Definitely sounds like the master cylinder. Try bleeding the master cylinder. If not check the prop valve. That happened to me in my Camino and it sounds the same. Good luck!!

[img]/wwwthreads_images/icons/tongue.gif[/img]<font color=red>76 CJ-7</font color=red> Waiting for my 350cid.[img]/wwwthreads_images/icons/tongue.gif[/img]
post #5 of (permalink) Old 03-09-2001, 10:16 PM
Way Outta Control