cj-5 or m-38? - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Jeep-Short Wheelbase All discussion of short wheelbase Jeeps: CJ, TJ, YJ and JK

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 02-15-2001, 12:46 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

cj-5 or m-38?

OK, so my postal project has taken a twist. As unique as my 4x4 postal would be, the body is turning out to be in worse shape than I originally thought. If I understand correctly, the postal frame is the same as an early (pre 1976) cj-5. Isn't that the same as the m-38? It looks like I might end up buying a new steel body tub and building it from the frame up-reinforcing the frame, doing the front axle, engine swap, t/c addition, etc. all at once. I realize that this probably isn't the most cost effective way of doing this, but I'm new to jeeps and 4x4's, so the education might be worth the cost. Isn't the m-38 a flat fender jeep? That's definately cooler than a postal. Ideas anyone?

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 02-15-2001, 01:46 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

Re: cj-5 or m-38?

I don't know whether the postal has the same frame as the cj5. If so, it would be the pre-1971 cj5. m38 is indeed a flatfender, but it sounds like you're thinking of the m38a1, which is the military analogue to the pre-1971 cj5 -- not a flatfender. An m38 body would almost certainly not fit a cj5 frame right out of the box, although an m38a1 MIGHT (I'm not sure). The m38a1 would be cool, but I'm pretty sure the gas tank is under the driver's seat; not a great setup in my opinion.

*IF* you have a cj5 frame, I'd say use a cj5 body.

joe

post #3 of (permalink) Old 02-15-2001, 02:48 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

thanks for the info. I've been told on this site that the postal (dj-5) has the same frame as an early cj-5. I guess Ill probably go with the cj5 body, unless anyone else has info for me.....

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of (permalink) Old 02-15-2001, 11:28 PM
jeepfiend

Geoff,