Team Rush, Leve: Help with Resistor wiring - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Jeep-Short Wheelbase All discussion of short wheelbase Jeeps: CJ, TJ, YJ and JK

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 02-13-2001, 06:47 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

Team Rush, Leve: Help with Resistor wiring

Hi,
Well, for the past few weeks, you may recall i have been dealing with my "Electrical Nightmare." I'll try to bring those old posts forward, after this post is up. I must be stupid, because after 2 saturday mornings staring at my wiring in the 10 degree weather, I still cannot figure out where the ballast resistor goes. I studied the TR upgrade wiring diagrams, and the Haynes wiring diagrams. So I spent a few hours, and traced all the wires, and drew up a wiring schematic of the present wiring set up. Please take a look at this and 1) tell me specifically where the ballast resistor goes, and if the rest of it is wired correctly. there are several differences in my wiring and what the other diagrams say. i feel that my problems could be solved by this.

thanks!!

Justin
www.geocities.com/jeepboyjus
'83 CJ-7, 258, TR ignition, headers, T5/D300, 3" suspension, 1" body, Moser 1 pce axles, Model 20, 3.54:1
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 9-333952-ElectricalDiagramA.jpg (69.9 KB, 6 views)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 02-13-2001, 07:00 PM
FlMudCJ

Re: Team Rush, Leve: Help with Resistor wiring

First, for your education, the unknown thing the alternator plugs into is an external voltage regulator, which means you have the motorcraft alternator.

Secondly, the restistor goes in the (+) side of the coil. The red wire to the coil. The (-) side of the coil goes to the ignition module, and the (+) side comes from a 12V source in the run and start position.

'77 CJ-5: 304/T-150/D-20 F-D44 R-9" Power 4 wheel disk, 36X12.5 swampers
bigmudtire
post #3 of (permalink) Old 02-13-2001, 07:21 PM