4.0 refurb swap. - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Jeep-Short Wheelbase All discussion of short wheelbase Jeeps: CJ, TJ, YJ and JK

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 02-09-2001, 10:59 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

4.0 refurb swap.

I'm new to jeeping and already need a new motor. Jeep offers a refurb 4.0 long block for $2000 + $600 core charge, am I crazy for considering this purchase? Would a Haynes manual cover this swap process or would I be better off buying the Jeep shop manual? Aside from the engine hoist what other special tools would be necessary to complete this swap?

I started jeeping on the wrong foot, maybe you guys can help a newbe.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 02-10-2001, 08:32 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

Re: 4.0 refurb swap.

Yes you are crazy for going to the Jeep dealer for your new engine. What makes you think that you need a new engine anyway? There are many different, better, and cheaper ways to do it than through Jeep. Just post a want ad for a 4.0 engine, specify the year you want and I am sure that someone has one in their garage that they are dying to get rid of. As far as manuals I am not sure. You could probably get away with a Haynes or Chilton manual because all you will need is torque specs. Remeber to buy a roll of masking tape and a marker before you begin and label every wire and hose you unplug, it will make reassembly 10 time easier. Hope this helped, good luck.

Dont sweat the petty stuff and dont pet the sweaty stuff
post #3 of (permalink) Old 02-10-2001, 08:54 PM