Need info on Rebuilding a 360 engine!!! - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Jeep-Short Wheelbase All discussion of short wheelbase Jeeps: CJ, TJ, YJ and JK

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 01-21-2001, 11:49 AM
Frank360

Need info on Rebuilding a 360 engine!!!

My '79 360 is knocking, I have been told it sounded like the lifters. I have been told that if you open an engine, you might as well rebuilt it all, because mixing new parts with old parts does not jive really well.. I've been dreaming of rebuilding an engine by myself, but I am not a mechanic and I have to hog my fathers garage now and then... My questions are, should I do a total rebuild, how complicated is it and what do I need as tools and equipment, and would it be overall cheaper than buying a drop-in... Should I bother with performance parts, or just keep the thing stock.. I have a spare engine that I could either use to pratice on, or take it as the rebuiding one until it's ready to swap in... Are there any detailed books on the subject, considering I have the haynes for my yj and the wagoneer(which engine came from)... I really like to learn, but I'm scared of jumping in the hardcore world of engines, well cause I'm not rich and I don't want to [censored] it up more than it is now... Thank you all in advance for you most valuable time and help..

A Jeep is a Jeep..
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 01-21-2001, 12:00 PM

Re: Need info on Rebuilding a 360 engine!!!

fist of all, does the engine actually need a rebuild?

is the oil pressure good? does it have good compression?
if these 2 things are acceptable there is no need to tear it down, unless you just want to.

I suggest finding out for sure what the knock is, you can replace the cam and lifters without building the rest of the engine if the rest is in good shape.

when does it knock? hot/cold? still make good power?

a rebuild will cost you over $1000 if you do alot of the work