Fuel filter - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Jeep-Short Wheelbase All discussion of short wheelbase Jeeps: CJ, TJ, YJ and JK

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 01-06-2001, 08:52 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

Fuel filter

I was looking at my fuel filter on my 88 YJ and noticed that it had 3 lines connecting to it. One was the supply from the fuel pump, another went to the carb and then there was one on the side of it that went back towards the gas tank. I want to change the filter, but wanted to use a clear one. Do I need that third line comeing out of the side?

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 01-06-2001, 09:21 PM
Keyboard Implanted

Re: Fuel filter

yes.. what that is.. is an overflow line.. basically.. when you get enough gas to fill the carb.. then the rest goes back to the gas tank.. keeps it from "bogging" out.. i guess would be the untechnical term used.. im no expert.. but i never ran this line with a v-8... and have never looked into.. or thought of why.. i just did it.. have too much to think about.. like cutting down my d60 rear 3".. whoo hooo almost done..

http://www.jeepgod.net

84 CJ-7 401/T-18/D20/D44/D60w/4.10&Detriots/YJ frame & tub/35x16x15 Boggers
<font color=orange>survival is instinct, but living takes guts</font color=orange>
post #3 of (permalink) Old 01-06-2001, 09:39 PM
**DONOTDELETE**