OT - Need a daily pavement-pounder. Opinions? - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Jeep-Short Wheelbase All discussion of short wheelbase Jeeps: CJ, TJ, YJ and JK

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 01-03-2001, 12:09 PM Thread Starter
I Might Just Know What I'm Talking About

OT - Need a daily pavement-pounder. Opinions?

OK guys. I know you all don't drive your Jeeps daily, judging by some of those pics that I see you post. [img]/wwwthreads_images/icons/wink.gif[/img] I have been driving the YJ daily for the last 7 years, and the ford pickup as well when needed. I've got a new job doing a lot of highway, and neither vehicle does that well. (My winter tires on the YJ are worn 31s, and with 4.10s and the automatic she tops out at about 65 revving like mad, and the big F250 is like driving a tank everyday.) This way I can also lock up the YJ and not have to worry about driving it in the winter.

I'm considering another vehicle to take care of that need. My friends all drive Volkswagens, and I'm considering a Golf / GTI in the 89-94 or so range. They seem plentiful, chep on the used market, and not too bad to look at (as opposed to a honda civic 4 door, anyway [img]/wwwthreads_images/icons/crazy.gif[/img]).

Anyone got any ideas on how reliable these things are? My friends have Jettas, but I am simply against a 4-door. [img]/wwwthreads_images/icons/cool.gif[/img] Or, any other daily buzz-boxes you guys like and would recommend?

Thanks for the help, and sorry to be off-topic. Hope you guys don't mind too much. [img]/wwwthreads_images/icons/smile.gif[/img]

Pete

88 YJ-retiring to trails soon
79 4WD F250-hauler/tower of my toys [img]/wwwthreads_images/icons/smile.gif[/img]
70 Jaguar E-type - the best car England ever made. [img]/wwwthreads_images/icons/cool.gif[/img]
??? pavement-pounder for work/school - opinions wanted.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 01-03-2001, 12:27 PM