Tranny Removal - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Jeep-Short Wheelbase All discussion of short wheelbase Jeeps: CJ, TJ, YJ and JK

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 01-02-2001, 04:32 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

Tranny Removal

'76 CJ5 304/T150/D20. Everything is unbolted and ready to be removed. Does it take quite a bit to move the tranny/t-case to the rear in order to remove? This is my first time, so I don't want to break/ruin anything?

Thanks.

My other vehicle is an Aircraft Carrier.
[email protected]
[email protected]
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 01-02-2001, 06:14 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

Re: Tranny Removal

It is very heavy. Especially if you are taking them out together. I took mine out with a floor jack last year and almost ruined the bellhousing when the weight of it put pressure on the pivot ball and chiped the place where the ball rides on the bellhousing. I ordered a tranny jack from JCWhitney when I went to put it back in. It was on sale for like $75 dollars and I had been wanting one anyway. If you have someone to help you from inside the jeep it probably wouldn't be to bad. I was alone and it was almost more than I could handle. If you are just wanting to know how much force it takes to get it seperated from the bell housing well mine just came right out once you get the balance right.

post #3 of (permalink) Old 01-02-2001, 06:19 PM
I Do This For The Glory