4WD speed - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Jeep-Short Wheelbase All discussion of short wheelbase Jeeps: CJ, TJ, YJ and JK

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 12-27-2000, 09:37 AM
**DONOTDELETE**

4WD speed

I am relatively new to 4WD vehicles, got a '83 Jeep CJ7 this summer. My question is , when in 4WD High, what is the maaximum speed ya should run if conditions allow it, like from snow on the pavement to clear spots, do i need to stop and lock or unlock the hubs and shift from 4wd when I go from ice or snow to clear pavement and vice versa? Thanks in advance.

"83 CJ7, 258 IL6,T4, mostly stock, nutter by-pass,TF ignition upgrade, MSD,K&N

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 12-27-2000, 09:53 AM
**DONOTDELETE**

Re: 4WD speed

4WD high will run at the same speed as 2WD. DON'T drive on dry pavement in 4WD, pop it back into 2WD on dry spots. If you don't have a locker up front you can leave the hubs locked, though.

Brad
ORC Land Use Section Editor
http://www.off-road.com/land
Vice-Pres. Rock Garden 4 Wheelers, Farmington, NM
post #3 of (permalink) Old 12-27-2000, 10:01 AM
I Do This For The Glory

Re: 4WD speed