exhaust snorkel? - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Jeep-Short Wheelbase All discussion of short wheelbase Jeeps: CJ, TJ, YJ and JK

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 12-18-2000, 06:37 AM
**DONOTDELETE**

exhaust snorkel?

Hey,

I just wanted to know if anyone had an opinion on an exhaust snorkel? I just had my exhaust work done this past weekend on my CJ7. I got a cat, and a flowmaster 2 chamber muffler. I had the guy bend a snorkel which attaches to the tailpipe and goes up along the tub just a few inches above the tub.

I have had water and mud above my brake lights and I have often shot water out of my old exhaust after being winched out.

I have been told that if your 4x4 is under wanter that you can suck water into your motor if you are trying to get it running (cranking over the motor). My buddy has a suburbon on 35"s and he just lost his first motor. He had water up to the bumpers and the exhaust was just under the water. Is this possible?

Thanks for your input.

1997 TJ w/ 33's
1984 CJ7 V8 SOA w/35's or 39's
http://members.aol.com/a4x4jeeper/
www.jeepeast.com/overmost
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 12-18-2000, 07:23 AM
**DONOTDELETE**

Re: exhaust snorkel?

Yes, it is possible to get water in through your tail pipe! The military uses snorkels on their vehicles. They have a flange that has two bolts to attach the snorkel. This way the unit can be removed when not in use. Their snorkels are about six to seven feet tall when mounted on the vehicle. Also remember that their ignition system is waterproof and everything vents to the air intake snorkel.

85 Cj7, 360, TH 400, D300, Pro-jection, D44's, M/T's 35's
post #3 of (permalink) Old 12-18-2000, 07:25 AM
**DONOTDELETE**

Yeah, I have a homemade snorkel for my intake and my ignition system is "sealed" with silicone.

I will post some pictures as soon as I can..

Thanks.

1997 TJ w/ 33's
Sponsored Links
Advertisement