Help with realizing a dream! - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Jeep-Short Wheelbase All discussion of short wheelbase Jeeps: CJ, TJ, YJ and JK

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 12-17-2000, 09:16 PM Thread Starter
I Might Just Know What I'm Talking About

Help with realizing a dream!

I bought my í79 CJ5 when I was a senior in high school and had planned to drive across America in it using only two lane roads as a way of celebrating my graduation. I flipped it on black ice and spent two months putting it back together at the expense of my saved up traveling money.
So when I started college, I was determined to save up until I graduated and try again. Well, I graduated and got married a week later (no, I hadnít just met her, we had dated for three years), so there went the chance and money again.
Now Iím gainfully employed and my wife is a Grad student who is talking about spending a summer in Latin America for school. I have the option of going with her and leaving the Jeep (though she is talking about Brazil...donít they still make CJs?) or staying stateside and fulfilling my dream.
My problem is that my old CJ5 is getting weary, as is my walletís reaction to soaring gas prices. What I would like to do is take some of the strain off of the 304 while itís running along the highways (55mph). I figure that there are three ways to go:

1. Move the 304 forward enough to accept an NV4500/D20 and still have a rear drive shaft.
2. Swap my D20 out for a D18 with overdrive and put in a D44 offset rear axle to match.
3. Or leave my 3.54 gears in the axle and put 33Ē tires under the Jeep with a nice lift.

I figure that the costs of the first two are well above my budget...for that I could buy a used CJ7 and swap my T18/304 into it, though that doesn't solve anything.

What does everybody think I should do?

Any other suggestions?