Which cj7 to buy? - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Jeep-Short Wheelbase All discussion of short wheelbase Jeeps: CJ, TJ, YJ and JK

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 12-15-2000, 04:18 PM Thread Starter

Which cj7 to buy?

Here is my dilemma. I have found two Cj7's. They both have 258's and t5s.
The first is a 1986 with with a D44 rear and a new bestop. But, it is showing some surface rust and was hit on the passenger side threshold with the damage confined to a small area of the floor and the side of the threshold. The seller says the side panels are relitively easy to replace but I have no welding experience. But it sure looks like crap now. The price $3700.

The other is an 84 but has some noise from the rear end which is a model 20. Has only a bikini top and a needs some body work redone as the bondo used to fill the dents is cracking out. It is relatively straight though.

The price difference is $800 more for the 1986. I was planning on putting larger axles on to handle 35's.

Is it relatively easy to replace the side pieces?

I am leaning toward the 86 and learning to do bodywork.

Thanks

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 12-15-2000, 04:57 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

Re: Which cj7 to buy?

The 86 would be my pick.

The noise in the rear of the AMC 20 could be a number of things from a spun 2-piece axle to a worn out pinion bearing...any of which will require some cash. The AMC20 will require 1 piece axleshafts to handle 35s..about $300 or so. Then you are still stuck with the thin walled 20 axle tubes which are prone to bending or spinning under hard use.

A Dana 44 is a strong axle with good one piece axleshafts. It can handle 35s with proper gearing. That would only leave you with the front Dana30 to swap out eventually. A lot of folks run 35 on their Dana30s...they just break stuff more frequently and carry spare axleshafts and u-joints. In other words, you could get by with it and 35s for awhile.