CJ5, CJ7 ? - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Jeep-Short Wheelbase All discussion of short wheelbase Jeeps: CJ, TJ, YJ and JK

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 12-15-2000, 01:03 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

CJ5, CJ7 ?

Ok I'm new to the Jeep community. I'm looking into buying my first CJ and I'm wonder what the differences are between a CJ5 and a CJ7 are. Any info would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks,
Don

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 12-15-2000, 01:29 PM

Re: CJ5, CJ7 ?

With 76 and up CJ5's they are 10 inches shorter in the door area than CJ7's. That's it. Everything is pretty swapable form the 5 to 7 but the 5 doesn't have room for an automatic tranny. My CJ5 is great but it would be nice to have a little extra leg room. Thank god for the tilt steering column.
CJ5's before 72 were also three inches shorter than 76 and up years in the fender area.

Pigpen
post #3 of (permalink) Old 12-15-2000, 04:30 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

Which CJ to buy is going to be a hard call that only you can make. A lot of the decision depends upon what you want to do with the jeep.

As the last poster stated, the 7 is longer than the 5. The 5 was changed in 1972. Jeep added 3" to the length to make room for the bigger motors. (I-6 258, V8 304) The length stayed the same until the end of the 5 in 1983. The 7 has always been the same length.

I have a 1978 CJ5. I like the size because it is easy to turn around out on the trail if I decide to retreat. Where I live muddy trails and sand dunes are the mainstay of 4 wheel'n. Most important to me is the classic line of the 5 with the "S" curve of the door area. The 7 is more squared.