Help! Dreaded starter grind has got me down. - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Jeep-Short Wheelbase All discussion of short wheelbase Jeeps: CJ, TJ, YJ and JK

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 12-12-2000, 07:47 PM Thread Starter
Veteran

Help! Dreaded starter grind has got me down.

I've heard about it but didn't think it could happen to me. (Sound familiar?) What I have is a freshly rebuilt, less than 500 miles, 304 mated to a TF-999 automatic. This is in a totally rebuilt cj7 that i've been working on for about 4 years. Shortly after I got it fired up for the first time it started the dreaded grind. Not every time but it's becoming more common. I've pulled the inspection plate and I can see that the expected damage is being done to the ring gear teeth.

Last night I bought and installed a shim for a ford type starter. It was all that was on the shelf and I "assume" it would work ok. The shim was approx. 1/8" thick. After installation I fired her up and what a racket. I could hear a scraping sound with every revolution. Needless to say I killed it real quick. Prior to the shim, with the vehicle running, I would hear a slight "tinging" sound occasionaly. Almost as if something was juuust barely making contact now and again. I assumed that this would be the starter gear whacking the ring gear as the ring rotated and this tight clearance also being the cause of my occasional grind. I figured with the shim I'd get a little more clearance between the two but it sounded as if it got a whole helluva lot worse.

I removed the shim and am back to the sporadic tinging and occasional but getting worse grind. I realize that I will have to replace the ring gear now at any case and the starter will go also just for good measure but I do NOT want to have to do it over and over. I want to fix the problem the first time around.