AMC V-8 Oil pressure issue - Weird - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Jeep-Short Wheelbase All discussion of short wheelbase Jeeps: CJ, TJ, YJ and JK

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 10-17-2000, 12:45 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

AMC V-8 Oil pressure issue - Weird

OK - Here's a weird thing that happened to me over the weekend...

I've been working on the Jeep body for like 6 months now, and the Jeep keeps going in and out of the driveway, garage etc. So I'm thinkg, "You know, I should run this thing for a while to get any condesation out of the engine."

Now, the negine is a brand new rebuild from RECON, it is about 8 months old, but has only about 500 miles on it - has worked great and has 25 psi at hot idle, 60 at 2500 rpms - the timing cover was on the engine when I got it and oil pump installed. I know you're all thinking, "Oh man, I know where this is going... but read on..."

Anyway, so this things idling away in the driveway for about 15 miuntes, it had warmed up, and about the 5th time I looked over to check the oil pressure, there's nothing but about 5 psi or less. So I tap the gas a little and no improvement, so I shut it off and threw up all over the driveway. No, not really, but that's about how I felt at that point!

I pulled a more "detailed" oil pressure gauge off another car and put that in and I had 8 psi and that's it no matter what the rpm. So I'm picturing either A) trashed oil pump housing, or B) trashed crank - a.k.a. engine. It was filled with Mobil 1, so I wasn't in a total panic yet - I was actually HOPING for the oil pump at this point!

So next, I pull off the oil filter and cut it up to check for metal. There's a little, but the usual amount - there's always a little tiny bit in there - I cut all of mine open mostly just so I can say I do... Anyway, there was nothing out of the ordinary here.