t-5 transmission woes - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Jeep-Short Wheelbase All discussion of short wheelbase Jeeps: CJ, TJ, YJ and JK

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 10-14-2000, 05:46 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

t-5 transmission woes

Hey guys, I've got a question for you regarding the t-5. I'm not a transmission expert by anymeans, so maybe this is a simple question, I hope so at least. In reassembling my jeep, I've run into numerous problems with my transmission. Currently, the problem is that the third/fourth gear syncronizer sleeve, does not slide well on the hub. Those pesky inserts keep pooping up too far, and even when aligned perfectly with the blocking ring, they will not lay flat again, and I cant get into gear. I don't know what the problem is, but its driving me crazy. I can push the inserts down with my finger, and slide the sleeve, but when I'm not pushing them down, they pop up and hold me from getting back to neutral. What can I do to eliminate this problem other than get rid of this horrible transmission. Please help, thanks -Todd

82 CJ-7
T-5, 258
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 10-14-2000, 06:28 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

Re: t-5 transmission woes

Todd, do you have the syncros (blocking ring) laying against the hub? If you don't the sleeve will push the inserts right out when they are moved. When the transmission is assembled the blocking rings will hold it all together.

post #3 of (permalink) Old 10-14-2000, 07:04 PM
**DONOTDELETE**