Welding. Totally OT - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Jeep-Short Wheelbase All discussion of short wheelbase Jeeps: CJ, TJ, YJ and JK

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 09-13-2000, 12:22 PM
joeybcdt

Welding. Totally OT

All this talk of welding...I've decided to buy one of those Hobart Handlers.

Someone had mentioned welding bottle caps as if this were difficult. I thought that was kinda amusing. I mean no offense to anyone. Let me explain. You may find this interesting. I make teeth for a living. I own a dental lab. We routinely weld, spot weld, solder, and braze chromium, silver, gold, palladium and occasionally titanium. We're talking welding something 1 millimeter X 1.5 millimeter. Now, that's small! Laser welders hit the market a few years ago. At first they were about $60,000.00. They are now about $24,000.00. I'm still waiting to buy one until they are more feasible.

I can't wait to start welding big stuff that I can actually see without magnification.

Joey

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 09-13-2000, 05:55 PM

Re: Welding. Totally OT

Ive mentioned welding beer cans togehter before, it might be really easy with a $24,000 machine,but its a little harder with a hand TIG.

I cant imagine it would be hard to stick bottle caps together, I CAN imagine it be a little harder to do without burning thru either cap, still relatively easy for me, probably a walk in the park with a $24K machine!

is the laser welder your referring to an "EB" welder? ( electron beam), Id like more info if its a different machine, Ive worked with teh EB welders at work, these are the machines that make the welds on tubing you buy, and angle iron, and all of hte structual steel thats seam welded together.

tell me more about the LASER WELDER

OzarkJeep

"Too small to be seen, and too big to control, and treated like a walking bomb."
post #3 of (permalink) Old 09-13-2000, 06:31 PM
joeybcdt