stupid 4-wheel question - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Jeep-Short Wheelbase All discussion of short wheelbase Jeeps: CJ, TJ, YJ and JK

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 09-08-2000, 11:40 PM Thread Starter

stupid 4-wheel question

I am very new to the four-wheel and jeep scene and I have a (you will probably think its stupid) question. What is the diffenence between part-time, full-time, and all-wheel four wheel drive?

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 09-09-2000, 01:34 AM
**DONOTDELETE**

Re: stupid 4-wheel question

Not a stupid question at all, man. MAny people are confused by those terms...and many people probably dont understand it and just dont wanna sk, so here it is in a nutshell....
Part time 4 wheel dirve is what i call REAL 4 wheel drive, it utilizes a TRANSFER CASE, which splits power from the trans evenly to both the front and rear axles. It requires shifting a lever, and almost always includes a low range. It should only be used in loose, slippery traction circumstances, unless you like drivetrain windup and trashed components, except for that quadratrac thing....dont even worry about that boat anchor. I Know CJ Dave is going to tear me a new one over that...
Full time 4 wheel drive is what a lot of the new Silverados and some Grand cherokees have. They have a differential in the transfer case, or along the driveline that allows the front and rear axles to turn at different rates to allow for turning. You can leave this type of system engageds all the time, especially if you hate getting any gas mileage whatsoever. Its an OK system, but rarely has a low range, wears out over time, the clutches, that is, and does NOT evenly split power to front and rear, which could leave you stuck.