Can a rookie change the rear main oil seal? - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Jeep-Short Wheelbase All discussion of short wheelbase Jeeps: CJ, TJ, YJ and JK

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 09-03-2000, 09:50 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

Can a rookie change the rear main oil seal?

I am wondering if I should attempt to try and change my rear main oil seal or take it to a mechanic. My 1990 YJ with 4.2L has an annoying oil drip at the rear of the motor. It seems to have gotten progressively worse over the last six months. I have limited mechanical experience (read this as I am a parts changer - not a mechanic). Because of work and school I have limited time. I might have one full day off every two weeks, so I would like to get this done in one day. Can I expect any time consuming obstacles? Is this a technical procedure? I do not like paying someone else to do work for me unless it is just beyond my ability. It is becoming harder to find someone willing to do the job right. Any suggestions of opinions?

Depewtee '78 CJ-5 (for sale)
'90 YJ
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 09-03-2000, 10:11 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

Re: Can a rookie change the rear main oil seal?

From one rookie to another get the chiltons manual out it should show you step by step how to do it with out messing anything up.

Goodluck
Kevin

post #3 of (permalink) Old 09-03-2000, 10:14 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

It is not beyond your ability, if you think you can do it, go for it. You may have to undo one of the motor mounts that is in the way, but there is nothing technical about it. Just make sure you get the seal in straight and don't damage it, my son did the same procedure on an old Bronco a while back nicked the edge of the seal, leaked worse than before. Not fun to have to do twice in one day!

Brad
ORC Land Use Section Editor
http://www.off-road.com/land
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of (permalink) Old 09-04-2000, 05:07 PM