Bumpers - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Jeep-Short Wheelbase All discussion of short wheelbase Jeeps: CJ, TJ, YJ and JK

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 09-01-2000, 04:36 PM
joeybcdt

Bumpers

I'm new to the Jeep world. I've only had my CJ7 for about two months. I've been learning a lot from the posts here. Thanks guys. Is anyone familiar with Durango bumpers and tire carrier? Are they hype and frills or are they really worth the steep pricetag? Any other bumper, tire carrrier that ya'll can recommend? I do like the 2" receiver buit in. I took my origonal spare carrier off because all the bouncing and rattling was driving me nutts. Now, I'm running spareless

Thanks,
Joey

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 09-01-2000, 07:52 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

Re: Bumpers

<font color=blue>I've not heard anything negative about durango. I know they're strong, and have one helluva warranty. I think there are some called bulletproof bumpers in Santa Barbara, CA, that are just as expensive, but have a bit more of the [img]/wwwthreads_images/icons/cool.gif[/img] factor... (that's moonguy speak for cool...)

Lost the website, though. Anyone?

http://www.obsessiveoffroad.com
If you don't stand for something, you'll fall for anything...
post #3 of (permalink) Old 09-01-2000, 09:08 PM

When I decided to purchase instead of build, I narrowed it down to three choices; bulletproof (nice but too damn expensive), durango and the 4WDHardware model. I heard some bad things about rattling with the durango unit; plus pricewise it didn't compare with the 4WDH one. I'm satisfied with the 4WD one; it has a very positive latching mechanism, a spring loaded pin to hold it in the open position and is greasable, swinging on a pivot with Timken bearings.

Max

dealing with your Jeep obsession;
the steps - recognition
denial
acceptance?
uhh...screw it, lets go wheelin'
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of (permalink) Old 09-01-2000, 09:11 PM