Bike Rack - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Jeep-Short Wheelbase All discussion of short wheelbase Jeeps: CJ, TJ, YJ and JK

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 08-30-2000, 02:40 PM
farfrum

Bike Rack

I have a full suspension mountain bike (Has thick frame) I am looking for a spare tire mount bike rack that will accomodate. Anybody else have this problem? I would like to know if the girl bar attachment would work, and I also heard mention of a peddle mount, but there was no picture or info.

'84 Yoda 4X4 stock pick-up
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 08-30-2000, 02:52 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

Re: Bike Rack

I am a mechanic at a bike shop. The "girs bike bar" should work. It attaches to the stem, and the seatpost. Any bike with those 2 things should work.

What I did was to get some " bike blocks" they are essentially a front frok holder. they are strapped to the hoop of my roll bar, and the back tire of the bike sits on the wheelwell, right next to the tailgate. Doesn't work in the rain very well.

What kind of bike is it? Several frame makers frames will fit on a rack, it just may be tough.

BJ

See you on the pilf side
post #3 of (permalink) Old 08-30-2000, 02:54 PM

I use a Thule receiver rack that has big enough clamps for my Cannondale Cadd III tubing(about 3" maybe). How thick of a tube are you talking about? The big rack manufacturers are usually pretty good about keeping up, or just behind any new designs that the major bike manufacturers are building. I think Thule and Yakima both have websites, they may have product available that havent hit the majority of the shops yet.

Jeff
89 Wrangler
"PLING" Hmm,What was that noise???....Awww probably nothing.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of (permalink) Old 08-30-2000, 03:01 PM
**DONOTDELETE**