Which HEI to get - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Jeep-Short Wheelbase All discussion of short wheelbase Jeeps: CJ, TJ, YJ and JK

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 08-24-2000, 01:44 PM Thread Starter
Enthusiast

Which HEI to get

I want to get an HEI upgrade. I have a 1987 YJ with the stock 258 inline 6 and a rebuilt carter carb. Which HEI should I get, someone suggested to get one with an adjustable vacuum advance. It comes with lifetime warranty plugs too, for a total of $150 plus $10 shipping. Is that a good price and any suggestions on a different type to get. I'm not really sure how it works and all, since I am new to Jeeps and playing around with cars. Thanks for your help and bearing with me in my time of ignorance. Donny G.

1987 YJ
1999 Cherokee Sport
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 08-24-2000, 01:58 PM

Re: Which HEI to get

Do this instead and you don't even have to pull you distributer.

http://www.trailhed.com/duraspark upgrade.html

'79 CJ-7
post #3 of (permalink) Old 08-24-2000, 02:22 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

there was a company in Cape Cod mass selling brand new HEI's with a warranty for around that much $$. I dont have the URL, but if anyone finds it please FWD it to me: [email protected]

thanks

Boston Mangler
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of (permalink) Old 08-24-2000, 02:39 PM

Here ya go Kev,

http://www.driveajeep.com

They are also now selling a pre-packaged TFI upgrade for $119.

'79 CJ-7
post #5 of (permalink) Old 08-24-2000, 03:05 PM Thread Starter
Enthusiast

If i could only afford to do one (either HEI or TFI) which should I do now? Eventually I'll probably do both. Also, looks like they are selling the one I need for $159 and that does not include the spark plug wires, which are another $25-$30.

1987 YJ
1999 Cherokee Sport
post #6 of (permalink) Old 08-24-2000, 03:15 PM