Next Project - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Jeep-Short Wheelbase All discussion of short wheelbase Jeeps: CJ, TJ, YJ and JK

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 12-21-1999, 01:10 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

Next Project

<font color=blue>
Ok... xmas shopping is done, so I can start spending my money on ME again (well, in the next month or so...)[img]/wwwthreads_images/icons/wink.gif[/img]

I'm thinking that I will just get a new cat-back exhaust. I still need rims&tires (running 31x10.5 BFG-AT on stock rims), but it takes a long time to save up that kind of $$$... so I'm looking in the 300 dollar upgrade area. I'm looking to upgrade my offroad performance.

I will eventually need to replace both front and rear axles, so will leave those alone until I break one (I know, stupid, breaking down on the trail!)

Any other ideas? I'm not tech savvy enough to install new gears... at least I don't think I am. How much work is this?

Besides, why change the gears if I'm going to get new wheels in the next 12 months or so? and axles in the next 36 months or so?

Any other ideas? I don't mind the time, so much as the frustration of failing, and having to redo it.

<font color=blue>Jon-YJ94
<font color=red>a work in progress
[email protected]
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 12-21-1999, 03:25 PM

Re: Next Project

Safety is always good, how about a rollcage, (connected to the frame)
if you don't have access to the tools to build one they are starting to make some kits for YJ's,
http://www.jl4wd.com/boltin.htm
http://www.kentrolinc.com/kentrolsto...tep=4&which=37
i haven't researched these actual parts, it's just an idea

3/4tonYJ
<font color=red>My Jeep Page
post #3 of (permalink) Old 12-21-1999, 03:31 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

<font color=blue>That's a good idea... [img]/wwwthreads_images/icons/smile.gif[/img][img]/wwwthreads_images/icons/cool.gif[/img]
MORE makes a nice one too.
what will the roll cage block on my dashboard?