NEED NEW TRANNY - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Jeep-Short Wheelbase All discussion of short wheelbase Jeeps: CJ, TJ, YJ and JK

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 06-07-2000, 10:15 PM
YJJP

NEED NEW TRANNY

Seeing as how I can't figure out how to find old answers on the web page, I need some help.
The tranny on my 88 YJ just died. To expensive to rebuild, so what is the best bang for my buck.
Please don't tell me to go pay 1500 dollars for an NV4500 or something of that dollar figure.
I work for a living. Is there something out there, cheap, easy to find, heavy duty four or five speed, won't require an expensive adapter, has to fit between the 258 and np231 T/C, and won't break the bank ???? TIA for all answers...

If it ain't broke,don't fix it. Wait till the wife is gone, and upgrade it .
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 06-07-2000, 11:29 PM

Re: NEED NEW TRANNY

I love the NP435. very low 6.69 1st gear, extremely tough, fits into almost anything. Big drawback though you will need adapters. Call AA for pricing. Or www.advanceadapters.com
Im not sure which tranny would need no adapters, since you have the NP231.

Jeff
89 Wrangler
If at first you dont succeed, your replacement will try and try again.
post #3 of (permalink) Old 06-07-2000, 11:36 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

Try using the SEARCH on the same row of options as login, log out, main index check private, and so on. I think you will have to compromise something to find the tranny you want. either a little beef or use an adapter. Try the search though you should find what you need.

Can you fix it?
I got a welder and a grinder. Heck yeah I can fix it.[img]/wwwthreads_images/icons/cool.gif[/img]
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of (permalink) Old 06-08-2000, 07:56 AM
YJJP