Ignition Problem - fresh post (with more details) - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Jeep-Short Wheelbase All discussion of short wheelbase Jeeps: CJ, TJ, YJ and JK

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 07-07-2009, 01:32 PM Thread Starter

Red face Ignition Problem - fresh post (with more details)

Hello SWB Jeep people,

i thought it best to restart the thread and provide some background information.

Let me begin by first thanking everyone for help and suggestions. i have been working on Jeeps (CJs, XJs, and ZJs) since around 1994, and MANY TIMES this forum has helped me get things on track. There are a few legendary names that i am glad to see still involved.

My original profile seems to have disappeared over website upgrades, but i think it was MyRides. After taking an '89 4cyl, 2wd, XJ through over 200k miles, 49 states and much of Canada. Also had a 1991, 6 cyl, 2wd, that we got over 300k miles out of with no major repairs and passed on to a friend.

i am forever a religious Jeep devotee!

As for CJs, i was much more involved in the forum around 2001-2003, while rebuilding (engine, transmission, transfer, complete new wiring harness) and refashioning (safety and storage) my '79 CJ-7. We started the personally rebuilt engine and drove 2,500 miles from Tallahasse, FL to San Diego, CA for its initial test run. (No exhaust, but much fun). Great daily San Diego and Baja driving, then prepped and leaped into a San Diego to Chiapas (bottom of Mexico) month-long journey. The 7,000 mile trip was great, i'll get some photos up again.