Winter project - how to pick a camshaft? - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Jeep-Short Wheelbase All discussion of short wheelbase Jeeps: CJ, TJ, YJ and JK

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 06-17-2009, 10:35 PM Thread Starter
I Might Just Know What I'm Talking About

Winter project - how to pick a camshaft?

I'm thinking of freshening up my engine this winter ('90 5.0 Ford). At first I was thinking of just replacing the roller timing chain and gears. This is usually a good move in old Ford engines.

But then I REALLY got to thinking, and started looking at cam/lifter kits. Most of the kits refer to "racing" and not "towing" as I'd typically look for......

So how do you find a cam for your jeep? I'm not looking for anything HIGH performance. Just a little better ump than stock...... I'm not going down the 1/4 mile here....

Any thoughts or suggestions would be appreciated....... I'm just getting started in my investigation......
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 06-17-2009, 10:59 PM
Veteran

Quote:
Originally Posted by IN2DEEP View Post
I'm thinking of freshening up my engine this winter ('90 5.0 Ford). At first I was thinking of just replacing the roller timing chain and gears. This is usually a good move in old Ford engines.

But then I REALLY got to thinking, and started looking at cam/lifter kits. Most of the kits refer to "racing" and not "towing" as I'd typically look for......

So how do you find a cam for your jeep? I'm not looking for anything HIGH performance. Just a little better ump than stock...... I'm not going down the 1/4 mile here....

Any thoughts or suggestions would be appreciated....... I'm just getting started in my investigation......
Might want to look into the factory HO style camshaft and lifters.

Good bottom end, great midrange, tops out about 5,500 or 6,000 RPM, Makes all of it's power at reasonable RPM's and lots of torque for that little engine.

Just a thought.