crankshaft installation - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Jeep-Short Wheelbase All discussion of short wheelbase Jeeps: CJ, TJ, YJ and JK

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 11-10-1999, 11:25 AM
**DONOTDELETE**

crankshaft installation

Hey everyone. This is my first time installing a crankshaft, and I am looking for a bit of advice.

First of all, I don't quite understand something I read in the factory service manual. (This is for an 87 YJ.) It says that the lower connecting rod bearing inserts should be installed DRY. Am I mis-understanding, or is there a rational explanation for this? Here's a couple quotes from the book:

"Wipe the journal clean of oil. Lubricate the upper bearing insert and install in the connecting rod."
"Install the lower bearing insert in the bearing cap. The lower insert must be dry."

Say what? Are they talking about lubrication of the back-side of the bearings, or of the actual bearing surfaces? I can't understand why you would want to mate a dry bearing up to a dry crank journal.

My other question is regarding cleaning the crank. It's a re-grind that I picked up, an I obviously want to make sure it's clean before I put it in. What's the best way to do this? Should I hose it off with soap and water and then re-lube the journals, or should I just wipe them down, or what? I'm concerned about rust, but I'm also worried that if I don't hose it off I might end up with crap stuck in the oil holes or on the counterweights that I didn't notice, which of course will then end up in my motor.

Thanks. Any help appreciated!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 11-10-1999, 11:40 AM
Keyboard Implanted

Re: crankshaft installation