Which Jeep to get? - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Jeep-Short Wheelbase All discussion of short wheelbase Jeeps: CJ, TJ, YJ and JK

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 04-30-2008, 09:40 PM
QuickDrift

Question Which Jeep to get?

How you doing everyone?
I'm currently new to the whole off-roading scene even though I have gone quite a few times.

I currently own a Jeep Compass and a Jeep Grand Cherokee

I want to sell one away and get a wrangler, here comes my questions.

Which Wrangler should i get I noticed there are quite a few models, like X Sahara and Rubicon.

Also just curious with what is the different with the terms Jeep Wrangler JK, LJ, TJ, YJ, and CJ? My friend was talking about them and trying to tell me which to get and I had no idea what he was talking about.

Also I noticed you all have been telling other new Wrangler people to get a winch and roll cage. Which would you prefer? Like type and brand wise and all. Also what type of wheels should i get for the description listed below.

The type of Wrangler I want to use is for the beach / mountain off roading such as going through creeks, mud, snow and mountain terrain. I live in PA so its basically all we get. Also I would use it for drive on beaches and such. So I'm not looking for anything too hardcore as a starter. Basically something where i can get to camp sites, rock climbing areas and places in the mountain side. But to also have alot of fun with while i off road.

Any help would be greatly accepted and honored.

Thanks again.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 04-30-2008, 10:23 PM
Way Outta Control

Get a TJ - Rubicon. It's the best off-road non-modified-out of the box Jeep ever made.

As for a winch and roll cage.. get both... you need both. Brand? I like Warn for a winch. For a roll cage... it's a crap-shoot. I'd look at a local builder who knows how to build cages. This is a job you want done right... the first time.