New Jeep! Now what... - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Jeep-Short Wheelbase All discussion of short wheelbase Jeeps: CJ, TJ, YJ and JK

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 04-25-2008, 10:53 PM
Jeremylee31

New Jeep! Now what...

Hey everyone. I just bought a 2006 Rubicon with manual transmission. I've always wanted a jeep and finally found my soul mate I've been wheeling a few times but I'm not that experienced. I want to put a lift on it (and probably 33 inch BFG AT) and have a few questions for you "experts" out there.

Besides greater articulation and a little smoother ride- what are the benefits of a Long Arm suspension over a short arm suspension? Does it do anything that is better for the drive train like decrease the angle the drive shaft is kinked and save a little horse power/life on parts? Also, any tips on what lift kit to get? I hear Rubicon Express is the way to go, but I've seen a lot of TJ's with Old man Emu also. Thanks for any advice and tips you can school me up on. Here is a pic of her all stock and itchin' to be "fixed"...
Attached Images
File Type: jpg ms_DSC03036_1.jpg (146.7 KB, 3 views)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 04-25-2008, 11:13 PM
Apprentice

wheel it get used to how it is and what you need for your off road adventures... then throw money and parts at it... get it out a dozen times first though
post #3 of (permalink) Old 04-25-2008, 11:48 PM
Way Outta Control

Mark's right... get the lift later. You may even find out you won't need one for the type of wheeling you want to do.

Instead, buy a Full Roll Cage and a Winch. They'll both get you out of trouble and perhaps save your life while you're driving that Jeep. You can't say that about a lift.

Spend your money wisely!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of (permalink) Old 04-26-2008, 05:53 AM

Welcome to the board! And to the club!