carrier swap - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Jeep-Short Wheelbase All discussion of short wheelbase Jeeps: CJ, TJ, YJ and JK

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 02-25-2008, 07:31 AM Thread Starter
Journeyman

carrier swap

i am a rookie when it comes to differentials. I am also bound and determined to figure this out. I guess i know there are no "rules of thumb" to take the place of understanding rears. don't take anything said or read for granted. measure...measure...and measure again. that being said, is it safe to say when replacing carrier only (retaining old gears), backlash and carrier bearing pre-load are the only measurements to be concerned with? I haven't touched the pinion and don't want to if its not needed...don't want to do more harm than good. Baby steps! thank for the help and i won't "hold you to it"
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 02-25-2008, 08:13 AM
Way Outta Control

Yes, you're on the right track. The only caveat I can think of is to have the right tools for the job, You're only as good as your tools. . Get a good dial gauge and a case spreader (if needed for your axle), a set of good torque wrenches and something to take care of that crush sleeve. Remember, that sleeve is not going to be easy to start to crush while you're sitting under the Jeep. If you use the old sleeve when you start the process, fine, but it's no substitute for a new shelve properly torqued. You may want to have a machinist start the crush so you can follow it up with out having to figure out how to apply two to three hundred foot pounds of torque to start/continue the crush. That's a difficult task, lots of jumping on 6' breaker bars and pipes. It can ruin your shins for a while (don't ask me how I know).