What's a '74 CJ5 worth? - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Jeep-Short Wheelbase All discussion of short wheelbase Jeeps: CJ, TJ, YJ and JK

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 11-26-2007, 10:21 PM
mxpilot83

Question What's a '74 CJ5 worth?

I'm a newbie to Jeeps, and I have a lead on a '74 CJ5. Some details:

Straight six with RV cam
2bbl carb aftermarket intake (not sure of brand)
MSD ignition
Dana 44 (really? is that OEM?) with chromoly shafts - open diffs
t-14 (how many forward gears? is there a granny-low with this tranny?)
body is straight and rust-free
fiberglass tilt front end
31" tires
full cage, cooler rack

This rig was built by a father-son team and has seen light duty wheelin - nothing hard core. I have ridden in it once a couple of years ago and I remember it being fairly clean both inside and out. I will be making a trip to go see it again, but I was hoping for an honest appraisal beforehand based on the above information.

A past project was to put 1 ton drivetrain on a '90 Blazer, so I'm not totally lost, but I know I'm missing some of the nuances of a CJ. Let me know if you need additional information for a value guesstimate.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 11-26-2007, 11:01 PM
Keyboard Implanted

as much as they can get!!!

Really it is relative. It could have an atlass 2 in it and is only worth the value of the atlas minus the cost to take it out if the frame is broken.. All I am saying is there is no way for us to assess a value over the internet. We can however guess, spculate, and tell ya what we would pay for it...
Regardless good luck.

Ya only go around once, best to enjoy it the first trip.
post #3 of (permalink) Old 11-27-2007, 06:34 AM