new guy w/ a new toy - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Jeep-Short Wheelbase All discussion of short wheelbase Jeeps: CJ, TJ, YJ and JK

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 11-26-2007, 07:29 PM Thread Starter

new guy w/ a new toy

Hey, my names jeff, Im from upstate NY (Amsterdam). SilentBob sent me this way cause there wasnt too much help on the hot rod forum for 4x4 jeeps, LOL
My background is in mostly older stuff (1930's). Ive been a machinist for 11yrs so that helps me keep my old junk on the the road. It also helps when its time to hot rod stuff!
Now why Im here, I just picked up a '90 YJ w/ a 4" rough country susp. lift, 3" body lift , 33x 12.5 tires (bridgestone dueler), 8.25 chrysler rear, stock front all w 3.55 gears (they were mismatched when I got it, 4.1 front/ 3.55 rear) It runs 2500rpm at 60mph so I decided to stay w/ the 3.55 (for now). The engine is a TPI 350 chivy w/ 350 tranny.
The guy that put it together was a total hacker and useless to ask any questions too. Maybe I shouldnt say hacker because they did put a ton-o-work into this thing, but they definetly took no pride in there work.
My biggest issue is tunning the TPI a little better. I was a little bummed when my first fillup only showed 11.3 mpg. I know this engine in its original vehicle got high 20's, so, besides the not having the overdrive tranny what gives?
Any one have any thoughts?
Stock GM computer, vehicle speed sensor, runs great, am I just expecting too much?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 11-26-2007, 07:42 PM
Keyboard Implanted

high 20's? as in MPG ??? with a V8? ....maybe on paper.....

theres a ton of chebby powered jeeps out there and i dont think i've ever heard of one getting "high 20's" for MPG.

if you are lucky, you might get right around 20....but i wouldnt ever expect more than 15 or 16 ...and even thats not as likely confgured as you describe